Shinome Brief

Tuesday 22 September 2026

Private edition · 12 min read

Jeff Nippard and Renaissance Periodization YouTube feeds returned 404 again. The PubMed feeds carried mostly repeats, so fitness research came from direct PubMed queries over the last 7 days. Qwen 4 was left out: Alibaba said at Apsara that it is still in training, so nothing shipped.

AI & Tech

5 stories

The lead

Xiaomi's open-weights MiMo-V2.6-Pro ties the new Grok 4.7 on the Artificial Analysis index, both at 46

The gap between the best free-to-download model and a paid frontier release is now zero on one widely used index, on the day both shipped. Grok 4.7 is pitched at coding and multi-hour tasks, with 71 percent on DeepSWE and 46.3 percent on CursorBench.

Xiaomi released MiMo-V2.6-Pro (1 trillion parameters, 42 billion active) and V2.6-Flash (309 billion, 15 billion active) with open weights on Hugging Face, plus RL code and more than 7,000 task environments. Pro scores 46 on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index, up from 26 for V2.5-Pro, level with xAI's Grok 4.7 released the same day at 2 dollars in and 6 dollars out per million tokens.

VentureBeat

CONVOUse it in an interview when asked about AI costs: a company can now run a model scored level with a paid frontier release on its own servers, so data privacy, not price, becomes the reason to pay a vendor.

  1. 1

    Any app on a Mac can take over Meta's Muse assistant through an unguarded settings switch, and Amazon now blocks it

    macOS researcher Patrick Wardle found that any local app or terminal command can change Muse's undocumented settings, including the endpoint where dictation is sent, and so capture the token that controls the account. His proof-of-concept attacks wrote files to disk and took photos with no visible sign; Meta did not answer questions, and Amazon began blocking Muse from its site on Sunday while Shopify partnered with it on payments.

    Ars Technica

    JOBBefore you give any AI assistant access to your email and WhatsApp for the job hunt, check what it can do on its own: an agent with your logins becomes the easiest way into all of them.

  2. 2

    Google confirms Gemini models logged into three real companies during a misconfigured May test

    In a capture-the-flag test run by security firm Irregular, a misconfiguration gave Gemini models internet access, and they hit real firms sharing a name with the fake target: one by guessing passwords, two with credentials left in public code repositories. The models stopped once they saw the systems were real; Irregular only told Google in July, and Google notified the companies but did not disclose publicly.

    Ars Technica

    CONVOSay it plainly when AI risk comes up: two of the three break-ins used passwords that humans had left in public code, so the weak point was basic hygiene, not a clever machine.

  3. 3

    British Columbia sues OpenAI for not warning police about a flagged account before the Tumbler Ridge shooting

    The province filed in California on 21 September, saying OpenAI's systems flagged and banned the 18-year-old attacker's account in June 2025 for gun violence planning but never alerted police before the February 2026 attack that killed eight. It seeks emergency and recovery costs and a court order forcing changes to how threatening chats are handled.

    Al Jazeera

    JOBUseful for a compliance or KYC interview: this is a failure-to-escalate case, the same logic as a bank that flags a suspicious client and files nothing, now applied to an AI company.

  4. 4

    Jev, a model that answers only in numbers, charges 0.042 dollars per million input tokens and nothing for output

    TypeSafe AI's Jev takes text in and returns probabilities for yes/no questions, choices or scores instead of writing text, aimed at spam filtering, labelling, ranking and reranking. It is cheaper than GPT-5 Nano, and within a week developers had built an open-weights copy, Kev, on Qwen.

    Simon Willison

    JOBTest it on your job sweep: ask one yes/no question per posting ("interim finance role in Vaud or Geneva?") and sort hundreds of listings for a few cents before reading any of them.

Finance & Markets

6 stories

The lead

Novo Nordisk falls 7.65 percent after its 2030 plan promises growth only in line with peers

Investors had asked for deals and new drugs before the meeting and got a peer-level growth promise instead. The unanswered question is what replaces semaglutide when its patents expire.

At its London capital markets day Novo targeted more than five drugs with multi-blockbuster potential by 2030 and over 150 billion kroner of risk-adjusted pipeline sales by 2035, with revenue growth to 2030 in line with the industry and a broadly stable margin. The shares closed down 7.65 percent at 260 kroner; semaglutide still makes up about 75 percent of 2026 revenue.

MarketWatch

CONVOUse it as a strategy case in an interview: a company whose main product is three quarters of revenue guided to average growth, and the market priced that as a warning about concentration, not as caution.

  1. 1

    Sunrise plans to cut up to 450 of its 2,900 full-time jobs, sparing shops, sales and customer service

    The Glattbrugg telecom operator announced a multi-year realignment on 21 September aimed at substantial cost savings, with consultation with staff representatives and the syndicom union starting in the fourth quarter. Shop, sales and customer service staff are largely excluded and apprentices entirely.

    swissinfo.ch

    JOBCross Sunrise off your permanent finance list for now, and ask your interim agencies whether Sunrise will need temporary finance or project staff during the transition that starts in the fourth quarter.

  2. 2

    India's National Stock Exchange lists at about 46 billion dollars, 42.9 times earnings, above Nasdaq and CME

    The 2.3 billion dollar IPO, the largest in India this year and entirely a sale by existing holders, drew more than 10 billion dollars of bids at a price band of 1,700 to 1,785 rupees. At the top of the band the world's biggest derivatives exchange trades at a richer multiple than Nasdaq, CME, ICE, HKEX and LSEG, as regulators tighten scrutiny of retail options trading.

    CNBC

    CONVOA sharp valuation line for a finance interview: the market is paying a premium multiple for a business whose volume depends on retail options trading that its own regulator is trying to cool.

  3. 3

    ECB's Lane says a second energy wave keeps euro inflation above 2 percent until mid-2027, days before the SNB decides

    The ECB chief economist expects energy costs to feed into food and electricity prices, with a return toward 2 percent only from mid-2027, after the ECB's 25 basis point hike on 10 September. The SNB meets on 25 September, and 40 of 41 economists in a Reuters poll expect it to hold at 0 percent.

    Le Temps

    CONVOHave the split ready for any Swiss finance conversation this week: the ECB is hiking into inflation while the SNB sits at zero, and that gap is what keeps pushing the franc up on Swiss exporters.

  4. 4

    Dimon puts hyperscaler AI spending at about 700 billion dollars now, up from 300 billion a year ago, and near 1 trillion next year

    At JPMorgan's India conference Dimon said the build-out adds about 1 percent to GDP a year and could lift inflation near term through hiring, construction and equipment, while AI itself should be deflationary over time. On Monday AMD rose about 10 percent to a 1 trillion dollar market value and the Nasdaq closed at a record 27,122.

    CNBC

    CONVOPair it with the Lane item in a conversation: the AI build-out is now a source of inflation today, not only a promise of lower costs later, and that changes the rate outlook.

  5. 5

    FT leak shows Kremlin-backed payments firm A7 moved 6.9 billion dollars through global banks using forged documents

    Standard Chartered, Citigroup and other international banks received thousands of payments from A7, Russia's main cross-border import payment channel since the Swift cut-off. The FT found 100 front companies paying during the leak period, with documents naming at least 100 more, including 61 in the UAE and 87 in Hong Kong.

    Financial Times

    JOBBring it to any KYC or compliance interview as a live example: the failure was document checks on front companies in the UAE and Hong Kong, which is exactly the screening work those missions hire for.

Fitness & Performance

6 stories
Last 7 daysThe week's research split along one line: on the diet side the labels keep collapsing into calories, with ultra-processed food, three named diets and now intermittent fasting all matching once energy is comparable, while on the muscle side one add-on finally held at a moderate size. Creatine on top of lifting raised strength and lean mass across 63 studies and left fat mass alone.
This quarterFor ninety days the quarter bucket has graded add-ons and found small or fragile effects: whole body vibration and blood flow restriction on 29 June, creatine for musculoskeletal pain on 6 July, photobiomodulation on 20 July, keto at matched energy on 13 August, HMB on 5 September, ashwagandha on 15 September, and yesterday creatine in women at low certainty. Today's three-level meta-analysis of 63 studies is the first add-on in that run to show a moderate effect on the outcome itself (strength g 0.54), but only on the muscle side, which sharpens the quarter's pattern rather than breaking it: add-ons can move what muscle does, and none this quarter has moved fat.

The lead

Across 63 studies, creatine on top of lifting added strength and lean mass, and did nothing measurable to fat mass

The small rise in body weight came from lean mass, which is why body fat percentage fell while fat mass did not move. The authors note that diet and training background were reported unevenly across trials.

A three-level meta-analysis of 63 studies (1,489 people) compared resistance training plus creatine with training alone: upper-body strength g 0.54, lower-body strength g 0.55, lean mass g 0.30, body mass g 0.12, body fat percentage g -0.14, and no significant change in fat mass (g -0.10). Dose, duration, frequency and loading protocol did not change the results; effects on strength looked larger in younger participants, flagged by the authors as exploratory.

J Int Soc Sports Nutr (PubMed)

sharpensmuscle-is-capitalMeasured gains were in strength and lean mass only; fat mass did not change, so the add-on sits on the muscle ledger, not the fat one.

SHINOMEWhen a client asks about creatine, give them the measured split: it added strength and lean mass in trials, and the scale may go up slightly while fat stays where it was, so they are not surprised in week two.

  1. 1

    Adding HIIT to strength training left squat strength unchanged across 21 studies, though longer intervals cut jump power

    A meta-analysis of 21 studies (569 people) found no difference between strength training alone and strength plus high-intensity intervals on squat one-rep max (SMD -0.06) or jump height (SMD -0.12). Sprint-type intervals showed no effect on jump, while short and long HIIT protocols were linked to lower jump performance (SMD -0.53), based on few studies.

    Int J Sports Med (PubMed)

    supportsmuscle-is-capitalConditioning work alongside lifting did not reduce maximal strength in pooled trials.

    SHINOMEAnswer the "will cardio kill my gains" question with numbers: in these trials maximal strength held; only jump power dropped, and only with longer interval formats.

  2. 2

    Intermittent fasting lost weight in all 26 trials reviewed, and matched continuous calorie restriction where they were compared

    A systematic review of 26 studies (24 randomised) from 3 to 50 weeks found weight loss with 16:8, 20:4, 14:10 and 18:6 eating windows, alternate-day fasting and 5:2, with no statistically significant difference against continuous calorie restriction. It is a narrative review without pooled numbers.

    Food Sci Nutr (PubMed)

    supportstwo-mealsEating windows matched continuous restriction on weight, consistent with meal structure as an adherence tool rather than a separate effect.

    SHINOMEUse it when a client wants to try a fasting window: the trials show it works about as well as a plain deficit, so pick whichever structure they will keep, and the two-meal default already is one.

  3. 3

    In 3 trials of adults without diabetes, GLP-1 drugs cost 0.78 kg more lean mass than control alongside 3.43 kg more fat

    A meta-analysis of randomised trials in adults with obesity and no type 2 diabetes found greater lean mass loss (-0.78 kg) and greater fat loss (-3.43 kg) with GLP-1 receptor agonists than with control, with high heterogeneity. Only three trials and 171 people met the criteria.

    J Clin Med (PubMed)

    supportsmuscle-is-capitalDrug-driven weight loss took measurable lean mass with it, the loss that resistance training during a cut is meant to limit. Small evidence base.

    SHINOMEKeep the ratio for prospects on a GLP-1 drug: in these trials roughly one kilo of lean mass went for every four and a half of fat, which is the case for adding lifting and protein to the drug.

  4. 4

    MCT oil trimmed fat mass across 7 small trials, at low certainty and with calories not reported as matched

    A meta-analysis of 7 randomised trials (346 adults with overweight or obesity) found medium-chain triglyceride intake reduced fat mass (SMD -0.42), body weight (SMD -0.41) and waist (SMD -0.42) against controls, with no change in lean mass. Heterogeneity was zero but GRADE certainty was low.

    Obes Rev (PubMed)

    challengesenergy-balanceReports fat loss from a specific fat source; the abstract does not show energy intake matched between arms, so it cannot yet separate the oil from the calories.

    SHINOMEIf a client brings up MCT oil, say what was measured: a small effect in small trials at low certainty, and a tablespoon still carries over 100 kcal that has to fit in the budget.

  5. 5

    Salomon signs a 5-year Ironman deal from 2027, with Kona title rights and 11 races in the US and Europe

    Salomon takes exclusive performance footwear, apparel and bag rights across Ironman, becomes title partner of the 2027 World Championship in Kona and commits to six US and five European races. It is also opening city stores and targeting New York and Los Angeles running communities.

    Athletech News

    SHINOMENote the pattern for Shinome marketing: brands are buying their way into communities that already meet every week, which is the same reason a local run or walk group beats paid ads for a small coach.